Scoot's Blog

art break

I decided to take a well-needed break from posting art.

I try to be somewhat consistent with my drawing to posting flow, it's always been a healthy practice for me since I've never tried to push myself too far (like losing sleep over meeting self-imposed deadlines or posting art I wasn't happy with to, again, meet deadlines), but burnout is burnout and sometimes you just need a break.

So I've been taking it easy and drawing in private (mostly! I share stuff with my friends of course :3 )

And during all of that I've been debating dipping my toes into this year's Art Fight. Not sure yet! We'll see! I've already made a refs for a few of my ocs, so these will be good for me to have regardless.

The one thing I really want to do more of during my break is draw more in my sketchbook.

The last time I really used a sketchbook was 2020, and I really miss it! I have these very specific sketchbooks that I like (Strathmore sketch paper spiral bounds). They aren't exactly the best for how I like to draw traditionally--with markers and pens and colored pencils--but it works for me. The markers bleed through the paper, sure! But! I doodle a lot on scrap paper, so I just tape or paste that to the underside of the page. It's like a little scrapbook of drawings. You just need a thin scrap of cardboard to slip under the page you're using markers on to protect the next page and you're golden! I'll be sure to share my sketchbook once it's done. I think I'm almost halfway through it.

Besides art, I've been playing the heck out of my 3DS lately. I hacked it ages ago but only within the last month have I started consistently playing it thanks to netpass. I've been kind of a fiend on puzzle swap, trying to complete all my puzzles :3c

I've mostly been playing New Leaf and Tomodachi life though. New Leaf is one of my favorite games and Tomodachi Life is a silly social sim that I can put all my ocs and favorite characters in and have them play 3DSs in my 3DS. Wow.........Video games!

If you're reading this and you have a mii or character to hang out with Chai, Garfield and lonk from Pennsylvania, this is your invitation to share!

I also have gold version and the minish cap to play, but I'll get around to them eventually! I already have too many games on my plate!